Employee of the Quarter

One of our Difference Makers recognitions, the EOQ recognizes an exceptional employee who exemplifies the WNH Circle of Care Standards of Performance. These employees are respected at all levels and display a cooperative and supportive attitude while actively contributing to the hospital's mission to provide the best healthcare and community service possible. 

When will it be awarded?

Once a quarter. Nominations will be accepted on an ongoing basis. The Employee of the Quarter will be announced in the Exchange newsletter.

Who can be nominated?

Any William Newton Hospital employee

Who nominates?

Employees are nominated by their peers

What does the Employee of the Quarter receive?

Download Nomination Form Now!

Current Employee of the Quarter

Kathy Strom
3rd Quarter 2023

Kathy Strom is Employee of the 3rd Quarter! 
Kathy has been with WNH since March 1989 and is currently our Diabetes Education Coordinator. Kathy’s nomination states, “Kathy is one of the most helpful and giving staff members we have at WNH. She is always willing to pick up another job or helping hand to get things rolling when it’s needed, never batting an eye just asking “what can I do to help” truly the picture of a great teammate.” Kathy was previously named Employee of the Quarter in 2008, and is one of only two WNH staff members who have received the dual recognitions. Kathy will be honored at the Board of Trustees monthly meeting with a recognition award of $100. Her picture will be featured on the hospital’s Facebook page and the photo wall outside of the Business Office and she will be able to park in the designated Employee of the Quarter parking stall. Congratulations Kathy! Employees like you are why WNH is such a great place to work!

All Employee of the Quarter Honorees

Kylie Stamper, Marketing
Crista Coble, ER

Angie Brooks, Obstetrics
Travis Pitterle, IT
Steven Kramp, Cath Lab

Sharon Walker, HR
Nanci Richardson, Risk Management
Paige Smith, Obstetrics

Andrea Arreguin, Registration/Scheduling
Spring Mayes, Respiratory
Matt Pogue, Emergency Department
Jamie Archer, Diagnostic Imaging

James Serfoss, Dietary
Lori Snider, Respiratory-Cardio Services
Elliott Rodda, Rehabilitation Services


Neil Dougherty, Emergency Department
Veronica Ray, William Newton Home Health
Wes Turner, PA, Cedar Vale Rural Health Clinic
Anthony Hann, Maintenance


Shannon Umberger, Med/Surg
Tammy Thomas, Environmental Services
Susan Meyer, Ambulatory Care
Erin Champlin, Obstetrics

Kristi Powers, House Supervisor
Echo Vaden, Nursing Service Administration
James McDermott, Cedar Vale Rural Health Clinic
Kara Goff, Accounting

Danny Sisk, Maintenance
Krista Russell, Purchasing
Jennifer Urban, Laboratory
Sue German, Respiratory

Marcia Magnus, Cedar Vale Rural Health Center
Oum Khuesy, Environmental Services
Megan Welty, Business Office
Georgia Harjo, Med/Surg

Leon DeVoe, Maintenance
Charlene Weakley, Moline Rural Health Clinic
Brenda Spears, Central Supply
Kaydee Johnson, WNH Foundation

Patrick Fromm, Dietary
Nanci Richardson, 2nd East
Debbie Marrs, Obstetrics
Sheila Dawson, Dietary

Sara Denly, Nursing Service
Dena Artherton, Rehabilitation Services
Valarie Griffin, Central Supply
Shirley Wege, Ambulatory Care

Melanie Burnett, Emergency Room
Doreen Kelley, Diagnostic Imaging
Lorane Voss, Pharmacy
Peggy Stalnaker, Foundation

Charlene Archer, Obstetrics
Cindy Anglemyer, Intensive Care Unit
Mike Heaton, Diagnostic Imaging
Renee' Vargas, Health Information

Debbie Stone, Rural Health
Debbie Hockenbury, Accounting
Donna Venable, Purchasing
Kathy Strom, Diabetes Education

Brenda Smith, Clinical Laboratory
Amy Bailey, Admissions
Kelly Wasson, 2nd East
Tina Wheeler, 2nd East

Kelle Thompson, Pharmacy
Betty Servidor, Clinical Laboratory
Debbie Pettigrew, Health Information
Marlene Finney, Nursing Service

Beverly Tolle, Rural Health Clinics
Jim Stoabs, Maintenance
Shanell Kohpay, Nursing Service
Sheila Knapp, Business Office

Linda Swisher, Dietary
Lee Shufflebarger, Diagnostic Imaging
Cheryl Brock, Education
Susan Swanson, Nursing Service

Bill Gillig, Business Office
Mike Hutchinson, Maintenance
Martha Preboth, Nursing Service
Brenda Davis, Tallgrass Rural Health Clinic

Ray German, Respiratory Services
Amy Soto, Surgery
Roseann Livingston, Materials Management
Rhonda Harding, Home Health Services

Aaron Pegorsch, Maintenance
Debbie Hedges, Human Resources
Karen Adamson, Nursing Service
Faye Melton, Cedar Vale Rural Clinic

Judy Hefley, Nursing Service
David Scott, Dietary
Kristie Ball, Nursing Service
Terri Browning, Nursing Service

Barbara Humpert, Nursing Service
Justin Waite, Winfield Area EMS
Diane Klinkon, Nursing Service
Jeanice Shimon, Dietary